Cavities

Caries_before
Twix, Snickers, Starburst, Gummie Bears, Kit Kats, Reeses Cups, M&M’s and the list continues with sweet treats that are a pleasurable pain to our teeth.  Daily individuals are in stores buying candy and are often within jobs that obtain vending machines filled with some of these items.  As a result adults across the country suffer from tooth decay and cavities. Cavities are defined as permanent damaged arears in teeth that develop into tiny holes. These are often referred to a dental caries.  Approximately 91 percent of U.S. adults aged 20-64 had dental caries in permanent teeth.  In addition approximately 5% of those adults have no teeth.  I believe this is due to the fact that often we are not focusing on what the snack will do our enamel; it’s the cravings that catch our attention. I recently had an experience with the dentist in which I was informed I had about 7 cavities!! Finding this our made me what to look more in to cavity prevention. As well all know the biggest cause for cavities is sweets and boy do I love me a good Twix. However, I had to come to terms with the fact that this treat of choice is likely to throw me in that 5% category. Flossing, cutting back on sweets, brushing at least twice a day is all preventative measure for cavities.  In the future I plan to follow these steps to re-build my enamel and protect my teeth.

Leave a Reply

